Going vegetarian: twelfth night


Today, it’s been 12 days since I’ve become a vegetarian and, like I promised, I would like to share some observations:

I did not lose weight

I have not really lost any weight, I think I’ve even gained some. And I know quite a few vegetarians who also put on weight since they stopped eating meat. I think it’s because they were eating more carbs.ย  Well, I’m probably running the risk as well. But, hopefully, I’ll be able to keep it at bay, just stay away from those cookies ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve feel airier

I don’t know how to explain this feeling, it’s an inner feeling of lightness, does not have anything to do with gravity.

I need less time to sleep

I don’t know if it’s spring time, love in the air or something else, but I started waking up earlier and easier than usual. I just wake up and don’t wanna go back to sleep. I think it’s because my system must has gotten rid of some toxins.

I don’t think about meat all the time

Actually, I don’t think about it at all. And, when I see someone eating it, it’s like watching a person go through something unpleasant. Well, perhaps my subconscious is kicking in, though, cause I was writing copy at work today and instead of “meta tags” I typed in “meat tags” ))). But I guess that was just a typo. Ok, let’s leave it up to Freud.

I know exactly why I’m doing it

I still have not forgotten why I decided to do it in the first place. And this was for two major reasons. First, I wanted to stop getting “fear hormones” that remain in the flesh of every slaughtered animal. Second, human stomach is not designed to digest meat. This way harmful bacteria appear in a human body that’s not supposed to be there.

I’m being reasonable

Well, I did not give up eggs or caviar. Just because these are not really animals and do not feel pain. And they get digested better than meat. So I don’t see why not eat them. And I also eat dairy, especially cheese. In a word, I am not a zealous veggie-holic who checks every package to make sure eggs were not added to the product.

I cheated… Once

I know, I know, it’s been only 12 days and I have already managed to cheat and break my commitment. But I decided to relate the truth and nothing but the truth in this reality coverage, so I decided toย  mention this as well. I went to thisย  team-building seminar with my co-workers from work and there was pretty much nothing to eat but meat. And we were staying at that place the whole day. So, I figured it was better to eat whatever there was available than stay hungry, grumpy and overeat later. So, I had some chicken soup and roasted chicken. Well, I guess that’s the toughest part of being vegetarian – avoiding meat whenever you go out.

OK, that’s it for now, I’ll keep you posted ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 Comments

  1. Dezz

    Solanah, thanks for keeping sharing your vegetarian experience! It’s very inspiring for us meat-addicted ๐Ÿ™‚ BTW, how long do you intend to continue? A couple of weeks/months? Lifetime?

  2. Well, for as long as I can ;)It’s kind of an experiment and I wanna see what comes out of it ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

